United States Modified Touring Series, Inc.

Poised for Noise: King of America IX, Battle at The Bullring V Getting The Green

HUMBOLDT, Kan. (March 23)-- Everything is on as scheduled for King of America IX powered by Summit and Battle at The Bullring V. Racing starts at 6 p.m. with an alphabet soup of main events on tap. A top prize of $8,500 awaits the B-Mod winner and a cool $12,500 up for grabs in the USMTS Modified finale.

After two nights of incredible heart-stopping USMTS qualifying races at the Humboldt Speedway on Thursday and Friday, the fields are set for Saturday's main events. Two-time USMTS national champion Ryan Gustin will be seeking his third King of America crown from the pole while last year's USMTS Grant Junghans Rookie of the Year, Jake O'Neil, will take the green flag from the outside of the front row.

Rodney Sanders and Kyle Strickler will fill row two. Ricky Thornton Jr. will start from the third row along with Jason Hughes. Row four will see Dereck Ramirez and Zack VanderBeek while the fifth row has Hunter Marriott on the inside of defending race winner Lucas Schott. The final two drivers to get locked in to Saturday's 75-lap finale at Travis Saurer and Brady Gerdes.


"A" Main:
Row 1 - 19R Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa | 0 Jake O Neil, Tucson, Ariz.
Row 2 - 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas | 2GK Kyle Strickler, Mooresville, N.C.
Row 3 - 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz. | 12 Jason Hughes, Salina, Okla.
Row 4 - 4R Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla. | 33Z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa
Row 5 - 62 Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo. | 69 Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.
Row 6 - 21X Travis Saurer, Elizabeth, Minn. | 2X Brady Gerdes, Villard, Minn.

"B" Main:
Row 1 - 4W Tyler Wolff, Fayetteville, Ark. | 37 Kelly Estey, Kelly Lake, Minn.
Row 2 - 65 Tyler Davis, Haysville, Kan. | 90 Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, Minn.
Row 3 - 96M Mike McKinney, Plainfield, Ill. | 99 Josh Angst, Winona, Minn.
Row 4 - 91 Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla. | 16S Chad Lyle, Oak Grove, Mo.
Row 5 - 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan. | 52 Jason Thoennes, Garfield, Minn.
Row 6 - 49JR Jake Timm, Winona, Minn. | 44T Tanner Black, Otis, Kan.

"C" Main:
Row 1 - 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan. | 26 Shawn Fletcher, Brainerd, Minn.
Row 2 - 96T R.C. Whitwell, Tucson, Ariz. | 10W Ward Imrie, Winnipeg, Man., Canada
Row 3 - 36 Kenny Wallace, St. Louis, Mo. | 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
Row 4 - 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr., El Paso, Texas | 71C Jason Cummins, New Richland, Minn.
Row 5 - 19 Dustin Sorensen, Rochester, Minn. | 88 Randy Klein, Lisbon, S.D.
Row 6 - 38C Jason Pursley, Hermitage, Mo. | 16 Austin Siebert, Grandview, Mo.

Last Chance Race #1:
Row 1 - 49J Jason Murray, New Hartford, Iowa | 111 Bumper Jones, Mesilla Park, N.M.
Row 2 - 75T Tad Davis, Mount Hope, Kan. | 23 Adam Kates, Tonganoxie, Kan.
Row 3 - 07 Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis. | 44 Adam Hensel, Baldwin, Wis.
Row 4 - 20A Trevor Anderson, Watertown, S.D. | 18JR Chase Sigg, Iola, Kan.
Row 5 - 32Y Jesse Young, Warner, S.D. | 50 Aaron Holtan, Newfolden, Minn.
Row 6 - 71 Jim Body, Diamond, Mo. | 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
Row 7 - 8C Richard Mueller, Jackson, Wyo. | 55 Nathan Hagar, Adair, Okla.
Row 8 - 15 Dale Proctor, Hector, Ark. | 61 Logan Rogers, Freeport, Ill.
Row 9 - 32 D.J. Shannon, Merced, Calif. | 144 Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.

Last Chance Race #2:
Row 1 - 9D8 Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan. | 89 A.J. Diemel, Elk Mound, Wis.
Row 2 - 42 Paul Niznik, Medford, Wis. | 1M Curt Myers, Cameron, Wis.
Row 3 - 22H Dustin Hodges, Centralia, Mo. | 292 Kyle Thompson, Joplin, Mo.
Row 4 - 34 Noah Daspit, Kiln, Miss. | 30 Matt Leer, Bruce, Wis.
Row 5 - 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo. | 24H Mike Harrison, Highland, Ill.
Row 6 - 25 Scott Green, Derby, Kan. | 17 Mike Striegel, Hermitage, Mo.
Row 7 - 40W Jessy Willard, Mound City, Kan. | 26G Ryan Gierke, Villard, Minn.
Row 8 - 13X McKenzie Gerdes, Alexandria, Minn. | 7 Willie Gammill, Siloam Springs, Ark.
Row 9 - 3 Arne Anderson, Watertown, S.D. | 2 Brandon Givens, Hutchinson, Kan.

Drivers raced in two heat races on Thursday and two on Friday with each driver's best three efforts counting toward Saturday's feature lineups. Tie-breakers, if needed, were determined by their fourth heat races. The top 12 in passing points from the first two nights were locked into Saturday's championship with the remainder of the field coming from Saturday's "B" Mains, "C" Mains and Last Chance races..

B-Mods will award three provisionals (one each from IMCA, USRA and Wissota national points) from the pool of drivers that fail to qualify for the "A" Main on Saturday. A past champion provisional will not be needed for the USMTS finale because all past champions in attendance are already in the "A" Main.

On Saturday, the pit gate opens at 2 p.m., grandstands open at 4, the drivers' meeting happens at 5:15 and racing starts at 6 p.m. sharp. Pit passes are $40 for adults or $20 for kids ages 5-10. Grandstand admission is $30 for adults, $25 for juniors) and seniors (65+) with kids ages 6-11 just $10.

For those unable to attend the event in person, RacinDirt will broadcast every lap of every race in both divisions. Fans and drivers should also download the MyRacePass app and follow along with live timing and scoring of each race.

The Humboldt Speedway is a located 0.1 mile west of US 169 at the Humboldt Exit, then 0.5 mile south, then 0.9 mile east on Georgia Rd. For more information, call (620) 431-2470 or visit humboldtspeedway.com.

To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit USMTS.com or call (515) 832-7944. You can also like the USMTS on Facebook, visit us on Instagram, follow us on Twitter, connect with us on LinkedIn and watch us on YouTube. Keep up to speed with everything USMTS and subscribe to the USMTS e-Newsletter.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Casey's General Stores, Chevrolet Performance, CP-Carrillo, Deatherage Opticians, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Intercomp, Jerovetz Motorsports Racing Parts, K1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers Motorsports, KSE Racing Products, Malvern Bank, Mesilla Valley Transportation, MSD, MyRacePass, Nitroquest Media, Pace Performance, PEM Racing Gears & Drivetrain, RacinDirt.com, Snickers, Spike Hardcore Energy, Summit Racing Equipment, VP Racing Fuels, Wrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Arizona Sport Shirts, ASi Racewear, Boubin Tire & Automotive, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Duvall Electric, Eagle Moon Farm, Impact RaceGear, PBM Performance Products, RACEceiver, Rancho Milagro Racing, River's Edge Scrap Management, Tony Moro Powder Coat, Top of the World Ranch, YouDirt.com.

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: 905 Ink, AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Beyea Custom Headers, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, Bryke Racing, BSB Manufacturing, Champ Pans, E3 Spark Plugs, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Harness, Hyperco, Integra Racing Shocks and Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, Maxima Racing Oils, Out-Pace Racing Products, QA1, RacerWebsite.com, Real Racing Wheels, Simpson Performance Products, Swift Springs, Sybesma Graphics, Tire Demon, Wilwood Racing.


Contact Info:
Jeff Nun
Communications Director
United States Modified Touring Series, Inc. (USMTS)
1715 W. 2nd St., P.O. Box 905
Webster City, IA 50595
Tel: 515-297-3835
Email: jeff@usmts.com
Web: www.usmts.com
Follow Us

United States Modified Touring Series, Inc., 1715 West 2nd Street, Webster City, IA 50595