King of America Returns to Humboldt in March 2022

HUMBOLDT, Kan. (Nov. 22) One of the most popular events on the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s campaign, the King of America is returning to the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kan., March 24-26, 2022.

King of America XI powered by Summit action gets underway Thursday with a $3,000-to-win main event. On Friday, the touring titans of the USMTS compete for $5,000 to win and a top prize of $15,000 is posted for the winner of Saturday’s finale.

Nine different racers have claimed victory in the previous ten King of America events with two-time USMTS National Champion Ryan Gustin winning in 2013 and 2017 to be the only multi-time winner.

Brooks Strength is the defending champ after claiming his first and only USMTS victory in last year’s phenomenal finale.

Delayed by one year due to the pandemic in 2020, Ricky Thornton Jr. captured the crown in 2019 while two-time USRA Modified National Champion Lucas Schott was the 2018 winner.

Zack VanderBeek captured the title in 2016 after a thrilling late-race battle with 2014 race winner Rodney Sanders. Jason Hughes was the 2015 champion; Stormy Scott topped the 2012 event and nine-time USMTS National Champion Kelly Shryock claimed the inaugural crown in 2011.

In the 56 USMTS races here, Hughes has more than doubled his nearest competitor with 13 career wins at ‘The Hummer’ while Scott has six wins. Gustin and Shryock both have five and Sanders follows with four victories.

Drivers with two wins include VanderBeek, Terry Phillips, Johnny Scott, Jason Krohn and Johnny Bone Jr.

On one occasion the checkered flag has waved for Jake O’Neil, Strength and Carlos Ahumada Jr., who each won their first at Humboldt in 2021, as well as Thornton, Schott, Tanner Mullens, Kyle Strickler, Tim Donlinger, Jon Tesch, Jeremy Payne, Mitch Keeter, Steve Holzkamper and William Gould.

The Humboldt Speedway is located 0.1 mile west of US 169 at the Humboldt Exit, then 0.5 mile south, then 0.9 mile east on Georgia Rd. (1663 Georgia Rd, Humboldt, KS 66748). For more information, call (620) 431-2470 or visit

Information regarding times and tickets is forthcoming… we just want to be sure you lock in those vacation days. Of course, if you can’t be there in person, the Humboldt Speedway in person, you can  enjoy every lap of every race in every division on every night of King of America XI with your subscription at RacinDirt.TV.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS:  American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCasey’sChevrolet PerformanceCompstarDirt DraftEibachFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsIntercompJerovetz Motorsports Racing PartsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationMSD PerformanceMTN DEW RISE ENERGYMyRacePassNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirt.comSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanThe Chunky PoodleVP Racing FuelsWrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS:  ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDuvall ElectricHacienda MechanicalMel Hambelton Ford RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRace RanchRancho Milagro RacingRHRSwag.comS&S Fishing &

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS:  AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBrown & Miller Racing SolutionsBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockForty9 DesignsHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsKeyser ManufacturingMaxima Racing OilsPenske Racing ShocksQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsTire DemonWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Casino Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Park Jefferson Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Revolution Park, RPM Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway.


Contact Info:
Jeff Nun
Chief Communications Officer
United States Modified Touring Series, Inc. (USMTS)
1715 W 2nd St, PO Box 905
Webster City, IA 50595