USMTS Forced to Cancel Annual Awards Banquet

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (November 23)—Due to ongoing restrictions related to COVID-19 imposed by governing officials, a USMTS awards banquet to celebrate the 2020 racing season will not take place.

“We waited as long as we could to see how this pandemic would play out,” said USMTS president Todd Staley. “Unfortunately, it’s not feasible to host a large get-together this year.”

Alternatively, the plan from USMTS officials calls for other ways to recognize those drivers, crew members and sponsors who made the 2020 season an exciting and successful one against all odds.

Among other things, the USMTS—along with their partners at—will produce videos highlighting each driver who finished in the top 10 in the final points standings of the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s.

That list includes Rodney Sanders, Dereck Ramirez, Jason Hughes, Zack VanderBeek, Terry Phillips, Tyler Davis, Tanner Mullens, Casey Skyberg, Joe Duvall and Adam Kates.

While Sanders captured his fourth USMTS crown, Mullens earned the Grant Junghans Rookie of the Year Award. Sanders also claimed the season-long FK Rod Ends Hard Charger Award.

Another four-time titlist, Jason Hughes thwarted Sanders’ sweep of the special awards by nailing down the overall Eibach Spring Forward Award.

For the second straight season, Sanders also helped carry Hatfield Racing Engines to the USMTS Engine Builder of the Year Award and MB Customs Race Cars to another Manufacturers Championship.

Live interviews, feature articles and photo galleries celebrating the 2020 campaign are among the items that USMTS fans can look forward to over the next couple of months at and on the organizations social media platforms on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Keep up to speed by joining the USMTS email list

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Casey’s, Chevrolet Performance, Compstar Performance Engine Components by Callies, CP-Carrillo, Dirt Draft, Eibach, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Intercomp, Jerovetz Motorsports Racing Parts, K1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers Motorsports, KS Engineering, KSE Racing Products, Malvern Bank, Mesilla Valley Transportation, MSD Performance, MTN DEW Zero Sugar, MyRacePass, Nitroquest Media, PEM Racing Gears & Drivetrain,, Snickers, Summit Racing Equipment, Super Clean, VP Racing Fuels, Wrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Boubin Tire & Automotive, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Duvall Electric, Eagle Moon Farm, JE Pistons, Miller Welders, PBM Performance Products, Rancho Milagro Racing, Rivers Edge Scrap Management, Tony Moro Powder Coat, Top of the World Ranch,

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Beyea Headers, BigDeal Car Care, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, Bryke Racing, BSB Manufacturing, Champ Pans, Deatherage Opticians, Edelbrock, Forty9 Designs, Genesis Racing Shocks, Hooker Harness, Integra Racing Shocks and Springs, Keyser Manufacturing, Maxima Racing Oils, Penske Racing Shocks, QA1,, Real Racing Wheels, Simpson Performance Products, Swift Springs, Sybesma Graphics, Tire Demon, Wehrs Machine & Race Products, Wilwood Racing.


Contact Info:
Jeff Nun
Communications Director
United States Modified Touring Series, Inc. (USMTS)
1715 W. 2nd St., P.O. Box 905
Webster City, IA 50595
Tel: 515-297-3835